• South Africa’s most competitive series will once again be able to declare a champion after the upcoming round of racing
  • Round four of the 2020 Oettinger Polo Cup is scheduled for 30 and 31 October
  • After two rounds in Gauteng and one in Mpumalanga, national racing finally reaches the Eastern Cape as Port Elizabeth’s Aldo Scribante circuit will play host to round four
  • Dario Busi will be the favourite to take the crown, but a number of very fast and talented drivers are still within striking distance
Uitenhage. Like everything else, the 2020 Oettinger Polo Cup series was also hugely affected by the global pandemic and although the series is severely shortened as a result, a champion will still be crowned. Motorsport South Africa requires for a series to have at least four race meetings to qualify as a national championship and this is exactly what the 2020 Oettinger Polo Cup will have. The question that remains is, who will lift the crown after the fourth and final round in Port Elizabeth?

South Africa’s most competitive series will set foot on Eastern Cape soil for the very first time in 2020 after two earlier rounds at Pretoria’s Zwartkops Raceway and one round at the Red Star Raceway near Delmas. This means that the fourth and final round scheduled to take place at Port Elizabeth’s Aldo Scribante racetrack will meet MSA’s requirements and a new Oettinger Polo Cup champion will be crowned. The favourite to take that crown is Dario Busi who managed to earn 126 championship points courtesy of two race wins and three-second place finishes from seven race starts so far in 2020. The Capetonian backed this up with a further two third places and due to this kind of consistency, he enjoys a 22-point advantage at the top of the championship points table. Thanks to a good weekend at Red Star that included two race victories, the man in second place on the standings and the most likely to prevent Busi from taking the crown is Natalian Clinton Bezuidenhout who has a points tally of 104. There is very little to separate the next lot as there is only a twelve-point difference between Matt Shorter in third, and Darren Oates in seventh with Justin Oates, Jurie Swart and Arnold Neveling in between. With 25 points awarded for a race win and three races scheduled on the day, the amount of points still up for grabs means that the top half of the field still has a mathematical chance of claiming one of South African motorsport’s most coveted titles.

“Volkswagen Motorsport is very excited to finally welcome the Oettinger Polo Cup to Port Elizabeth and the home of Volkswagen,” commented Mike Rowe, head of Volkswagen Motorsport. “The Scribante circuit traditionally dishes up extremely close racing and there is no reason why this event will be any different. In fact, with a championship up for grabs I think we are all going to see one of the most hotly-contested racing weekends in recent history and I for one cannot wait to see which one of these talented young drivers is going to walk away with the title.”

Spectators will not be allowed at the circuit, but that is no reason to miss out on any of the day’s action as all of the Oettinger Polo Cup races will be broadcast live on Volkswagen’s social media platforms.